nergfoogle personal moment – The real Ervin Shlopnick

Again to make nergfoogle a more personable site, I’ve decided to share some more information about myself. A picture…

I have never shown a real picture of me on my blogs… As far as you know. The people that run the witness relocation program I am in, said it was for the best.

So I decided to show an old picture of me from the 80’s. And being it was just Veterans Day, I decided on an old Navy picture.

Here I am performing one of my many important Navy duties.  I believe this was a cardboard boat, I and a shipmate built to leave behind in the Mediterranean sea when we left to head home. It was sort of a tradition….. That we started.  As you can see, it was a very majestic looking ship that we were sure would sail the Mediterranean sea for years to come…. And if I recall correctly, it sank some 5 minutes after we set it afloat… Never said I was a good sailor.

Photo taken between 1986 and 1987.

img045

Now, I’m sure you are wondering which one is me…

I’m the one wearing the Navy dungarees and I have my hand raised above my head.

Oh… and I’m smiling.

Still can’t figure it out…. GEESH, OK ,one more hint. I’m the white guy.

12 Comments on “nergfoogle personal moment – The real Ervin Shlopnick”

  1. Shana Rae says:

    Well hello sailor! 😉 That one is the real you *points* 😉

  2. I got it figured, you’re the one with the standard navy haircut…

    AV

  3. You have to be the one with the cocky attitude. Right??

  4. reocochran says:

    Very nice photograph and I agree that you are the one on the right. But either man is very handsome and this is nice to know that you were a Navy serviceman!

  5. Kaufman's Kavalkade says:

    Darned men in uniform looking better than me in my Jumper. How’s a poor soul supposed to get laid around here….

    My Dad as Lt JR Krew on the USS Reeves in the 60’s, during Vietnam. Ships Supply officer I think was the title. haha. Smart, volunteered for the Navy when his deferments were up, haha. Hates to swim, but can…

  6. […] nergfoogle personal moment – The real ErvinShlopnick (nergfoogle.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

